Sweet Potato Chips

27 Jan

Friends, family, beloved readers, beloved readers’ pets, random reader from middle America (how did you find me?), others who have stumbled upon this website while searching for their local FroYo,

I have an announcement:

I am in crisis.

A writer crisis.

An Accomplished Woman crisis.

The sort of crisis which paralyses your thoughts and ideas. You see I am currently experiencing an Unemployed Writer’s Emotional Breakdown (or UWEB as I affectionately call it. Here’s how to use it in a sentence –

Me: Hey man, sorry I couldn’t get back to you about that thing. I have UWEB.

Man: Oh that’s cool, I had UWEB once. The anti-fungal cream really worked wonders).

This breakdown may have been brought on by a late-night google search of jobs for arts graduates. Waiter was one of only a few options.*

Whatever the cause, I present you with a direct transcript from my mind during my battle with UWEB:

I’m unemployed. No-one will ever employ me. I am unemployable. I have no marketable skills! Why would anyone employ me? Why? Surely I have some skillz! Like maybe if the government had a really big problem and war was imminent, they’d be all “We need an Accomplished Woman!” Then they’d turn to me and say  “You there, the woman who makes Salted Caramel Ice Cream, how will you help this global crisis?”

I’d be ready with a 2B pencil in hand: “I can write you a sonnet…or perhaps prose? Will that solve your really big world wide problem? I’ll make it really good.”

Ok. Stop freaking out. Here’s what you need to do, self. You need to write something. Anything. Write for The Accomplished Woman Dot Org. She’ll employ you. Sure, the pay’s not great but maybe then you will have something to show for your days of carb-loading and coffee drinking.

Am I speaking in 3rd person? It’s hard to tell. Maybe I’ve split my personality into two. I’ll call the other one Flora. I knew a girl called Flora once…

That’s not the point. I need to write. We need to write. Verity and Flora.

But I don’t know what to write. I should know what to write. I know! I need to do something so I can write about it! Is making popcorn ice cream really enough to keep this website going? Mmm. Popcorn. Butter. Is butter a carb? Carbs. Carbs. Carbs. I love carbs. A carb would make a good husband. No one ever hates carbs. Do they? Really? Think about it. Oh, I am. People love carbs!

That’s it. That how my brain goes. It’s not my fault, it’s my UWEB playing up.

But don’t worry. I have a plan.

That plan is to squash all those thoughts and fears and never speak of them again. At least until they resurface when I’m menopausal and my therapist asks me about my golden years.

However, after squashing all of those thoughts, one thought remains:

Carbs.

Good carbs.

When I think of good carbs I think of sweet potatoes. You should know that I am considered the family expert when it comes to Sweet Potato Chips. Little did I know, my method of cooking was amateur at best. Recently I discovered this recipe and it is beyond divine. It creates chips that are crispy on the outside and sweet and fluffy on the inside. It’s been doing the rounds at Pinterest  but I added a few extra goodies to spice things up.

Sweet Potato Chips

Adapted from www.theartofdoingstuff.com

Serves one greedy person. Adjust measurements accordingly.

1 medium sweet potato

3-4 tablespoons cornflour

1/2 teaspoon paprika

A good shake of sea salt and freshly ground pepper

A few tablespoons of olive oil

Peel the sweet potato and chop into fry shape. Thickness is whatever you like.

Soak fries in bowl of water ideally for 30 mins (but as few as 2 mins and as much as half a day will work too). If you can stand to wait that long.

Fill a bag with the cornflour, paprika, salt and pepper. Drain sweet potatoes lightly then add to bag. Shake shake shake until the chips are evenly coated. Then add your olive oil and distribute the way you did the cornflour.

Spread chips on a tray so that each chip has room to crisp up. Bake in 220*C (425*F) oven for 15 minutes.  Turn chips, then continue to cook for another 5 minutes or until the chip reaches the crispiness required.

Enjoy plain or with dijonnaise (I personally endorse the dijonnaise option).

It may take some practice to get your chips as you desire them but it will be worth it.

*Not that being a waiter is not a valid and fulfilling choice for employment, it’s just that I doubt I would use my extensive knowledge of grammar and linguistics** in said occupation.

** Before those in the know expose me- ok, I barely passed linguistics, but you get what I mean.

4 Responses to “Sweet Potato Chips”

  1. Jessie January 28, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    mmm that sounds delcious! Off to the market for sweet potatos 🙂 oh and Dijon…to die for i cant get enough at the moment!! So glad your back life 🙂

  2. Jessie January 28, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    lol oops minus the ‘life’ bit…

    • The Accomplished Woman January 28, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

      Yes! You should try them! Omit the pepper and you have healthy chips even your fussy eaters will love. If they aren’t fans of sweet potato I imagine it would work just as well with regular potatoes which I know they love. Happy chipping!

      • The Accomplished Woman January 28, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

        Only unhealthy part is the dijonnaise but we’ve all got to live a little!

Leave a Reply

